Biology FMIPA UI


The Department of Biology with the Undergraduate program was one of the original departments/study programs that was established with the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences at Universitas Indonesia. The department started with the undergraduate program in 1961 located in Bogor. Based on location, the Department of Biology went through three locations of study: Bogor (1961-1975); Jakarta (1975-1987) and Depok (1987-present).

In the beginning, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences carried out educational activities at the Eijkman Institution building (Health Center Laboratory of the Ministry of Health) on Jalan Diponegoro 69, Jakarta. Three Departments namely Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry were located in Jakarta while the Department of Biology was located in Bogor together with the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Faculty of Agriculture of Universitas Indonesia, because the educational facilities for the biology department in Bogor could be shared with the other Bogor based programs. At that time (1961-1968), the Biology Department was led by a Head of the Department – Dr. Soekarja Somadikarta; the founder of the Biology Department – assisted by one administrative staff, was located at the Zoology Section FKH UI, Jl. Taman Kencana Bogor. The first batch of Biology students consisted of 14 students (10 males; 4 female) in the 1961/1962 academic year.

Along with the change of organization in Universitas Indonesia where the Faculty of Agriculture and the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine became a part of Bogor Agricultural Institute (IPB) on September 1, 1963 (Decree of the Minister of Higher Education and Sciences No. 91 of 1963, 1 September 1963), the Department of Biology began to prepare for moving educational activities to Jakarta. In the 1968 academic year, the Biology Department did not accept new students at the undergraduate level in preparation for future academic activities in the Salemba campus. Starting in 1970, several of the Biology Department teaching staff were asked to take up positions in the faculty. In the period 1961-1974, the Department of Biology, FIPIA UI, produced 9 Sarjana Biologi and 20 Sarjana Muda Biologi, using the original curriculum from 1961. Starting in 1978, the Biology Department accepted first-year undergraduate students again and academic activities was held at the UI Campus in Salemba 4, Jakarta with limited facilities. During that period, preparations were being made for a bigger campus at the new Universitas Indonesia campus in Depok, a suburb area of Jakarta. After almost ten years in Jakarta, in 1987 the Department of Biology as a part of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences moved its academic activities to the new Universitas Indonesia campus in Depok, occupying its own building with expanded teaching and research facilities.

After moving to the Depok Campus, the Department of Biology pursued establishing graduate programs in the field of Biology. The master’s degree program was established on September 25 1993 by the Decree of the Director-General of Higher Education, Ministry of Education and Culture RI No.577 / DIKTI / Kep / 1993 in the academic year 1993/1994. The academic year 1997/1998 saw the establishment of the Doctoral degree study program, and the program was formalized by the Decree of the Director-General of Higher Education, Ministry of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia No. 256 / DIKTI / Kep / 1999, May 24, 1999.